Minutes of the 2-11-13 CTGP EC meeting.

Started at 9PM via teleconference (after a CTGP Bylaws Committee meeting).

CTGP attendees via teleconference: Co-chairpersons: Ronna Stuller and S. Michael DeRosa; Treasurer: David Bedell; Secretary: Barbara Barry. Absent: Allan Brison, co-chairperson. Facilitator: Barbara Barry

The following was passed by consensus:


The proposed agenda for the CTGP SCC meeting on Monday, February 18, 2013 at 7PM.

Location: Portland Senior Center (first floor), 7 Waverly Avenue, Portland, CT 06480

1. Review minutes and: a) approve 1-14-13 SCC meeting and b) accept the minutes of the 2-11-13 EC meeting. 2. Treasurer's report from David Bedell.

3. Secretary’s report from Barbara Barry:

4. Reports from our five (5) representatives to the GPUS: Linda Thompson, Tim McKee, Jeff Russell, S. Michael DeRosa and Allan Brison.

5. Any proposals/ resolutions from chapters or a group of five (5) CTGP Members.

6. Report from the CTGP Bylaws Committee meeting of 2-11-13: Ronna Stuller, Barbara Barry, S. Michael DeRosa, Rolf Maurer, Christopher Reilly and Tim Hauser of New London for presentation to: chapters and other CTGP members at the next 2-18-13 SCC meeting. Next Bylaws meeting: Monday, 2-25-13 at 7PM via teleconference. (Jeffery Russell has dropped out of committee due to transportation and phone problems.)

7. Updates from: a) David Bedell and S. M. DeRosa regarding their 12-31-12 visit to the CT Secretary of the State’s Office (SOTS). They filled a complaint with the SOTS regarding NO GPUS write-in votes for president were counted in: Bridgeport, Waterbury, East Haven, West Haven and New Canaan. Update about their complaint to the SOTS, affidavits from specific voters and their recommendations for further strategies about this issue.

b) Allan Brison updates regarding: the 2-14-13 coalition event which the CTGP endorsed; and the 4-19-13 event with Bill McKibbon, environmentalist, journalist and author.

c) Updates regarding what issues the CTGP wants the CT legislature to address in 2013. Security and Medicare, healthcare, gun reforms, job development, bringing our 1st responders’ home, Patriot’s Act, women’s rights, alternate energy, etc.

d) SMD: voter regulations: have the CTGP as a specific political party which voters can identify on the CT Voter Registration form (vs. grouped under “Other”); proposal similar to that of New York State: if there are 1000 registered voters across the state, then the political party will be identified on the Voter Registration form.

e) CT state representatives: Ed Vargas of Hartford and Timothy Bowles have agreed to meet with the CTGP about our legislative concerns. Representative Tim Bowles of Norwich (Democrat) submitted CT Bill 6098. This bill was referred to the GAE (Government and Elections) Committee around February 1st. This bill reduces the number of signatures needed for state-wide office (including for U. S. President) to 5000 valid signatures instead of the presently required 7500 valid signatures. It also requires that all write-in votes be counted. f) volunteers to interact with the CT legislature about specific CTGP concerns.

8. Discussion about the next CTGP Annual meeting: a) date, place and time: either April 20, 2013 or April 28, 2013;

b) deadline for CTGP members to submit their names to run as candidates for internal CTGP offices is by 9:00PM of March 18th 2013 date of the SCC meeting;

c) type of mailing: no postcard, will ask for donations to CTGP; a PDF file maybe done so the CTGP members can read the more detailed information about each CTGP internal office candidate may be available.


9. Reports from CTGP members to the active (GPUS) National Committees: Ballot Assess (BA): discussion of efforts, difficulties, strategies and successes of the state Green Parties gaining ballot access.

S. Michael DeRosa and William Glickman.

Eco Action (EA): develop ecological strategies for the GPUS. Jeffery Russell and Bill Glickman.

International Committee (IC): develops/promotes GPUS positions regarding world issues. Hector Lopez, Justine McCabe and S. Michael DeRosa.

Latino Caucus: Hector Lopez.

Merchandizing Committee (MERCH): determines and acquires items for the GPUS. Rolf Maurer.

Peace (GPAX): discusses/develops strategies of how the GPUS may promote peace throughout the world. Jeffery Russell and Richard Duffee.

Platform (PC): promotes positions on issues for the GPUS which are consistent with Green Party Ten Key Values.William Glickman.

Steering (SC): the seven (7) co-chairpersons of the GPUS which promote GPUS actions and strategies.

Women’s Caucus: Linda Thompson.

Current GPUS National Committees that appear to be inactive:

Accreditation (AC): reviews any state chapter which petitions to join the GPUS; reviews criteria for state delegates to GPUS annual meetings and conventions.

Annual National Meeting (ANMC): working on the 2013 GPUS National Meeting.

Black Caucus:

Bylaws, Rules, Polices Procedure (BRPP): for the GPUS officers and national committees.

Coordination Campaign (CCC): distribution of GPUS money to Green Party public office candidates.

Dispute Resolution (DRC): mediation of any disputes within the GPUS organization.

Diversity (DC): strategies and actions to urge/maximize diversity within the GPUS.

Finance (FinCom): review and determine how to spend the money of the GPUS organization.

Fundraising (FC): raises money for the GPUS operations.

Green Party of the US internet news: acquire and write articles for the GPUS website.

Media Committee (MC): writes GPUS press releases.

Outreach (OC): interacts with other groups who may have similar interests of the GPUS.

Presidential Campaign Support Committee (PCSC): develop strategies to support any GPUS presidential candidates. Timothy McKee.


11. Chapter reports: verbal to the attendees and the written approved minutes to the CTGP secretary/EC members.

12. Next SCC meeting is March 18, 2013 at 7PM at the Portland Senior Center.

13. Other suggestions.


non-violence, respect for diversity, grassroots democracy, social justice and equal opportunity, ecological wisdom, decentralization, community-based economics and economic justice, future focus and sustainability, personal and global responsibility, feminism and gender equality